30 Days of Personal Growth, Day 6: Find Your Peace

20120610-153724.jpg

“Peace is not the absence of conflict but the ability to cope with it.”

-Author unknown

When I was 16, I’d wake up at 6 every morning to go for a walk. As my feet hit the pavement, I would allow my mind to drift wherever it wanted. I thought of being the president, of getting married, of exploring outer space. Under the rising light, I felt at peace with myself and at home with nature.

Ten years later (my, how time flies!) I hit the snooze button on morning meditation. While I’ve tried a few times to restart my teenage ritual, late nights online or long days at work keep me glued to the bed. But I really feel like it’s time for a peace reboot. What better time than now?

I think that we often feel stressed, irritated, or “weird” because we’ve disconnected from our peace source. We’ve let the demands of our jobs and relationships overpower us, and we fly off the handle because we’re not at peace within. And while we all have our own unique methods of centering ourselves, some methods–alcohol, marijuana, casual sex–only provide an artificial feeling of contentment. They’ll only make coping more difficult over time.

My preferred peacekeeping ritual, outdoor walking, not only helps me connect with nature but helps me stay in shape (no complaints there!). But you can create your own healthy peace habit. Paint. Write. Do yoga. Listen to music. Play with a pet. Hit a few balls at the batting cage. I’ve done all of these, and they’re very helpful.

The next time you feel things just aren’t right in your world, don’t scream or argue with innocent bystanders. Instead, pull yourself into your peace place so you can determine what’s troubling you and, with your head clear, you can stand your ground against it. No matter what’s going on around you, inner peace is always an option. You just have to commit yourself to it.

Leave a Reply

