Forgiving the Self

20120406-171104.jpg

Forgiveness is choosing to love. It is the first skill of self-giving love.

– Mohandas K. Gandhi

Sometimes I find myself relapsing into habits I don’t like. As hard as I try to resist my vices, they tempt me in my most vulnerable moments. I look back at some of the things I’ve done and realize, ashamed, that my mistakes have followed me. I wonder if I’m really doing right by myself, really taking care of the young woman I am. Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

I fall short, but I must forgive myself. I may stumble over my goals and drift into comforting yet insidious habits, but I don’t deserve to be abused for my human frailty. I make plenty of mistakes. I don’t do everything I know I should–sometimes those chips just taste better. Sometimes I just want to enjoy the moment. No honest person can deny those feelings.

I have committed no crime. Unless I have hurt someone, I don’t owe anyone an apology. I’m neither wholly bad nor wholly good–I’m capable of both. I only owe it to myself to forgive myself and try, try again.

2 thoughts on “Forgiving the Self

  1. Hey, no one is perfect. I can relate to the chips tasting better. It is “one” of my weaknesses and there is no need to feel badly about that. Life is short, and you need to enjoy it!

    L

Leave a Reply

